Twelve European countries already apply some form of special tax on banks

A minimum of twelve European countries They already apply a certain type of special bank tax. This is how it is collected by European Banking Authority (better known as ABE) in its risk assessment report on the continent’s financial system last Tuesday. This document includes a significant sample of states that apply some type of special taxation to their banks. Besides Spain, the list includes Sweden, Denmark, Holland, Belgium, Italy, Hungary, Austria, Romania, Czech Republic, Poland and Lithuania. Additionally, it does not include countries such as Irelandwhich announced for next year an increase in the tax it charges to entities that received public aid during the previous financial crisis.

Leave a comment